The Thoughts of SES Blog

Of Snow and Ice and Everything Nice

Posted in Thoughts on Weather by ses31 on February 11, 2010

So, the weather radio blasted at me a Winter Storm Warning for Friday. I don’t hold much of a candle to these warnings because they don’t always almost to much. It might snow. It might not be that much. But seriously, unless there’s snow on the ground when I wake up, all these school closings are inane.

It used to be when I was going to public schools and private school in Oklahoma growing up that legend had it that the ONLY way school would close for snow is if the principal walked outside THAT morning and if he went to spit on the ground and the spit froze, then school would be closed that day. There was none of this close schools the day before because then the snow that was forecasted might not come.

But if the snow comes, then oh the sweet joy! Playing in the freshly fallen, pure white snow. Of course, in Alabama, if you do catch a snowflake on your tongue, you won’t do it again, because they don’t taste so great!

But we’ll see what comes of it. If it’s another waste, or if it actually happens.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. riser recliner chair said, on February 19, 2011 at 3:03 pm

    I’m typically to running a blog and i really appreciate your content. The article has really peaks my interest. I’m going to bookmark your web site and keep checking for brand spanking new information.

    • ses31 said, on February 19, 2011 at 5:46 pm

      Thank you for your encouraging words! I have not been keeping up much with the WordPress blog since I now also maintain four blogs over on Blogspot, but I will keep your words in mind as I try to come up with my next blog post topic! I am still fairly new to the blogging scene, and your words have given me encouragement that I can keep in mind as I write future posts.


Leave a Reply

